SEC Postseason Awards Announced

Five Commodores earn SEC recognition

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — Five Commodores earned postseason SEC honors as announced by the league office Monday afternoon.

Second Team All-SEC
Enrique Bradfield Jr.
Devin Futrell
Nick Maldonado

All-Defensive Team
Enrique Bradfield Jr.
Davis Diaz

Freshman All-SEC
RJ Austin

Bradfield is all-conference and all-defense for the third consecutive season. The junior outfielder leads the league in stolen bases this season and ranks third all-time in SEC history with 127 in his career. Bradfield has made countless highlight-reel plays in center field for the Commodores including the robbing of a potential home run in the top of the ninth inning Friday night against No. 2 Arkansas.

Futrell owns a 6-3 record and a 3.54 ERA in 13 starts on the mound for Vanderbilt in his sophomore season. Futrell was named SEC Pitcher of the Week on April 3 after tossing 8.0 shutout innings against Georgia with seven strikeouts. He was also named to the College Baseball Foundation Pitcher of the Year Midseason Watch List.

Maldonado recorded saves in back-to-back games against No. 2 Arkansas on Friday and Saturday to bring his career total to 17, tied for fourth-most in program history. Maldonado ranks second in the SEC with eight saves this season. He has a 1.61 ERA and is holding opposing hitters to a .146 clip over 28.0 innings of work.

Diaz has held down the hot corner for Vanderbilt for much of the season, making great plays on defense to help Vanderbilt have the second-best fielding percentage in the conference. To go along with his top-tier defense, Diaz is also second on the team with 48 RBIs.

Austin earns a spot on the Freshman All-SEC team after starting all 51 games for the Commodores in his first season of collegiate baseball. Austin has six home runs and 37 RBIs. He has 16 multi-hit games and 11 multi-RBI games this season.

Vanderbilt will be the No. 4 seed at this week’s SEC Tournament in Hoover, Alabama. The Commodores will play in the fourth game on Wednesday and will face either No. 5 seed Auburn or 12th-seeded Missouri at approximately 8 p.m. CT Wednesday on SEC Network.