Football Celebrates RISE Awards

Anfernee Orji was named the MVP of Team 2

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — Vanderbilt football head coach Clark Lea and his program celebrated Team 2 at the second annual RISE Awards on Saturday night on the Vanderbilt campus.

Senior linebacker Anfernee Orji was named the team’s Most Valuable Player for the second consecutive season, while Gavin Schoenwald collected the Team 2 Player of the Year Award, Will Sheppard was named Offensive Player of the Year and CJ Taylor earned Defensive Player of the Year.

Other awards included the Scholar of the Year (Ethan Barr), scout team top performers and the Lance Brown Impact Award, given to Director of Sport Nutrition Julia Baird.

The award ceremony was held at Vanderbilt’s Blair School of Music. The evening officially concluded the 2022 campaign which saw the Commodores more than double their win total from a year ago as Lea completed his second season at the helm of his alma mater.

2022 RISE Awards

Freshmen of the YearJayden McGowan & AJ Swann
Newcomer of the YearGunnar Hansen
O-Show Award (Offensive Scout)Cole Spence
Skull & Bones Award (Defensive Scout)Linus Zunk
Rough Riders Award (Special Teams Scout)Alan "Taco" Wright
Offensive Most ImprovedQuincy Skinner Jr.
Defensive Most ImprovedDevin Lee
Reaper Award (Strength & Conditioning)Jaylen Mahoney
Scholar of the YearEthan Barr
Special Teams Player of the YearCooper Lutz
Specialist of the YearMatthew Hayball
Courage AwardDaevion Davis
Fighting Spirit AwardGamarion Carter
Offensive TrenchJacob Brammer
Defensive TrenchNate Clifton & Christian James
VUFB WarriorBen Bresnahan & Maxwell Worship
Respect & Appreciation AwardCharlie Dallape
Stone Cutter AwardBradley Ashmore
Lance Brown Impact AwardJulia Baird
Offensive Player of the YearWill Sheppard
Defensive Player of the YearCJ Taylor
Team Two Player of the YearGavin Schoenwald
Most Valuable PlayerAnfernee Orji