Classic Weekend for the Commodores

Vandy hosts 33-team event starting Friday

by Rod Williamson

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — The is the 18th annual Columbia 300 Music City Classic, the largest regular season NCAA bowling tournament in the nation, begins this weekend.

The event will be held at the Smyrna Bowling Center in Smyrna, starting Friday and running through Sunday. There is no admission charge to attend the event.

Start Times

Practice will begin at 9 a.m. both Friday and Saturday with competition starting at 9:30 a.m. Sunday’s play begins at 8:30 a.m.


The tournament will follow the standard NCAA format with five, 5-game Baker sets on Friday, five traditional team games Saturday and three, best-of-seven Baker matches scheduled for Sunday’s bracket play.

Powerful Field of 33 Teams

This year’s field features 19 of the nation’s top-25 teams, including the top nine ranked teams in the latest NTCA poll.

Here is the field (indicates rank):

Alabama A&M, Alabama State, Arkansas State (6), Aurora, Carroll, Carthage, Central Missouri (23), Drury, Emmanual, Jackson State, Kentucky Wesleyan, Louisiana Tech (7), Lewis (21), Lincoln Memorial (22), Long Island-Brooklyn (20), Maryville (12), McKendree (1), Monmouth (24), Nebraska (2), North Carolina A & T (5), North Central College, Sacred Heart (16), Sam Houston State (3), Spalding, Stephen F. Austin (8), Tulane (15), Tusculum, UAB, Maryland-Eastern Shore (17), Valparaiso, Vanderbilt (4), Wisconsin-Whitewater (18) and Youngstown State (9).

Following the Event

Teams will do their own respective live streaming of their matches.

Vanderbilt has launched a tournament central web page that will have information, results, photos and helpful links for the event.

Special Note to Fans

All fans should be aware that the traditional step ladders that many use to see over the tops of the spectator and bowler heads will not be permitted. Bowling centers across the country have banned the use of ladders and chairs used for enhanced viewing angles after being informed that their insurance policies no longer covers injuries sustained if someone falls from an elevated position.

Senior Day ’22

Vanderbilt will salute three seniors after competition concludes Sunday afternoon.

They are Angelique Dalesandro, Angelica Anthony and Samantha Gainor, who took advantage of her extra NCAA-awarded COVID-19 season to compete in 2021-22.

Stoddard Award Recipient to be Announced

This award is named in honor of former Smyrna Bowling Center general manager Harry Stoddard whose early enthusiasm, loyalty and hard work was instrumental in laying the foundation for Vanderbilt bowling’s success.

When Stoddard was dying of cancer, Vanderbilt head coach John Williamson promised Stoddard that he would keep his name and spirit alive with the bowling program by creating the Harry Stoddard Award. It is the Commodores’ only award and it is decided as a result of a team vote for the individual that most embodies Stoddard’s selfless attitude, hard work and enthusiasm.

Past winners include:

2011: Jessica Earnest
2012: Lauren Rhein
2013: Kim Carper
2014: Nicole Chanin
2015: Rebecca Requerro
2016: Nicole Powell
2017: Kristin Quah
2018: Adel Wahner
2019: Jordan Newham
2020: Samantha Gainor
2021: Lauren Potechin

Dalesandro Still Sidelined

Dalesandro is still rehabbing from the surgery to repair a broken foot from last month and will not be in action this weekend. It is hoped that Angelique, an All-America honorable mention performer in 2021, will return in time for the NCAA Tournament.

Last Year’s Tournament

McKendree topped Nebraska 4.5-1.5 to win the championship behind Hope Gramly’s MVP performance.  Vanderbilt placed ninth.

Vandy’s History at MCC

The Commodores have won this event five times in 17 years, the last coming in 2019. Vandy also prevailed in 2009, 2010, 2014 and 2015.