Bulanova Named SBL Bowler of the Year

Five Commodores selected all-conference

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — The Southland Bowling League announced Monday its selections for individual awards and All-SBL selections and Vanderbilt had five student-athletes recognized, including Bowler of the Year Maria Bulanova.

Bulanova, a senior from Moscow, Russia, was the Southland Bowling League Bowler of the Month for her performances in January. She won the individual championship and was named MVP at the Ladyjack Hammer Classic and was also named the Northeastern Invitational MVP.



A member of the Mid-Winter Invitational and Columbia 300 Music City Classic all-tournament teams as well, Bulanova was the 2019 Southland Bowling League Player of the Year and 2019 NCAA Player of the Year.



Along with Bulanova, Vanderbilt junior Samantha Gainor was named to the SBL All-Conference first team. Gainor, from Chesterfield, Michigan, turned in three top-20 finishes during the 2019-20 season and was the program’s recipient of the Harry Stoddard Award which is presented annually to the Commodore with outstanding work ethic, enthusiasm and selflessness as voted on by the team.


Vanderbilt senior Adel Wahner and Vandy sophomore Angelique Dalesandro were named to the SBL All-Conference second team. Wahner (Las Cruces, New Mexico) finished second at the Stormin’ Blue & White Classic while Dalesandro (Rolling Meadows, Illinois) came in fifth at the Allstate Sugar Bowl Invitational and ninth at the Hawk Flight Invite.




Mabel Cummins, a Vandy freshman from Elburn, Illinois, was named to the SBL All-Conference third team. Cummins turned in a seventh-place performance at the Hawk Flight Invite.



The 2019-20 All-SBL teams are chosen based on the Player Composite Performance Index (PCPI).

2019-20 All-Southland Bowling League Awards

Bowler of the Year: Maria Bulanova, Vanderbilt

Newcomer of the Year: Allie Leiendecker, Louisiana Tech

Coach of the Year: Doug Kuberski, Youngstown State

2019-20 Southland Bowling League All-Conference First Team

Name School Class Hometown
Taylor Davis Arkansas State Jr. Naperville, Ill.
Julia Huren Arkansas State Sr. Westland, Mich.
Bea Hernandez Sam Houston State So. Manila, Philippines
Maria Bulanova Vanderbilt Sr. Moscow, Russia
Samantha Gainor Vanderbilt Jr. Chesterfield, Mich.


2019-20 Southland Bowling League All-Conference Second Team

Name School Class Hometown
Allie Leiendecker Louisiana Tech Fr. Wooster, Ohio
Elise Chambers Sam Houston State So. Ocoee, Fla.
Madison McCall Tulane Jr. Myrtle Beach, S.C.
Angelique Dalesandro Vanderbilt So. Rolling Meadows, Ill.
Adel Wahner Vanderbilt Sr. Las Cruces, N.M.


2019-20 Southland Bowling League All-Conference Third Team

Name School Class Hometown
Emma Stull Arkansas State Fr. Raleigh, N.C.
Katelyn Dickerson Sam Houston State Sr. Painesville, Ohio
Lynne Fishler Sam Houston State Sr. Ramat Efal, Israel
Carlene Beyer Stephen F. Austin So. Ogdensburg, Wis.
Mabel Cummins Vanderbilt Fr. Elburn, Ill.