ABCA Inducting Corbin

Head coach Tim Corbin among six-member hall of fame class

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Vanderbilt head coach Tim Corbin will be inducted into the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) Hall of Fame as part of its six-member class of 2020, the organization announced Tuesday.

Corbin is joined by John Casey (Tufts University), Wayne King, Jr. (Joliet Junior College), Mike Kinnison (Delta State University), Mike Metheny (Southeastern Oklahoma State University) and Dennis Rogers (Riverside City College).

The hall of fame induction ceremony will be held during the 76th annual ABCA Convention on Friday, Jan. 3, 2020, at the Gaylord Opryland in Nashville. Registration for the convention as well as tickets to attend the Hall of Fame banquet will go on sale September 1.

Under Corbin, the Commodores have won two national championships (2014 and 2019) and made 15 NCAA Tournament appearances, including 14 straight – the longest active streak in the SEC. His teams have also advanced to nine Super Regionals and four College World Series.

In 2019, the Commodores tied an SEC record with 13 players selected in the Major League Baseball Draft. Overall, 16 Commodores have been selected in the first round since Corbin’s arrival on the Vanderbilt campus in 2003, including eight in the past five years. In addition, 48 players have been named All-America, including 14 who have received first-team All-America recognition.

Corbin will begin his 18th season at the helm of the Commodores baseball program this fall. Corbin, and his staff are coming off a 2019 season that saw the Commodores secure the program’s second national championship in six seasons and set an SEC single-season record with 59 wins.

Induction to the ABCA Hall of Fame is the highest honor bestowed by the organization. The ABCA was founded in 1945 and the Hall of Fame began in 1966.