2024 SEC Football Opponents Set

Vanderbilt to host Alabama, South Carolina, Tennessee and Texas in 2024

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — The Vanderbilt football program learned its Southeastern Conference opponents for the 2024 campaign, as the league announced each institution’s home and road opponents on Wednesday night.

The Commodores will host rival Tennessee, Alabama, South Carolina and newcomer Texas in 2024, while traveling to Kentucky, Missouri, Auburn and LSU.

2024 SEC Opponents

South CarolinaKentucky

The SEC announced the league would play eight conference games in 2024 as Texas and Oklahoma join the league. In addition to the eight games, each SEC team plays at least one non-conference opponent from a Power 5 conference or a major independent in 2024. Vanderbilt will host Virginia Tech at FirstBank Stadium to open the 2024 season.

The schedules were set based on traditional opponents and a balanced strength of schedule. Tennessee and Kentucky are two of the most common opponents in Vanderbilt history. The 2024 season will mark the 119th meeting between the Commodores and Volunteers, while Vandy and Kentucky will meet for the 97th time that season (Vanderbilt plays both in 2023). 

As members of the SEC East, South Carolina and Vanderbilt have met annually since the Gamecocks joined the SEC in 1992, while Missouri and Vanderbilt have played annually since the Tigers’ admittance to the league in 2012.

Alabama will be traveling to Nashville for the first time since 2017 and just the second time since 2007. The teams last met in 2022 in Tuscaloosa.

Vanderbilt will visit LSU for the first time since 2009. The teams met in 2019 and 2020 in Nashville. Auburn and Vandy are set for the 44th meeting between the schools in 2023, with Vandy’s 2024 trip to Auburn marking the Dores first visit to The Plains since 2016.

Vanderbilt leads the all-time series with Texas, 8-3-1, but the teams have not met since 1928. The 2024 season will mark Texas’ first trip to play at Vanderbilt since 1925.

The 2023 Vanderbilt football season opens on Aug. 26 when Hawai’i visits FirstBank Stadium. Click here for ticket information.