RISE Awards In The Books

Anfernee Orji was named the team MVP at Vanderbilt football's 2021 RISE Awards

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — Vanderbilt football coach Clark Lea concluded his first year at the helm of the Commodores by holding the inaugural RISE Awards on Friday.

Anfernee Orji was named the team’s Most Valuable Player while Chris Pierce Jr. collected Offensive Player of the Year and Ethan Barr was named Defensive Player of the Year. Those were among 23 end-of-year awards handed out at the Langford Auditorium on Vanderbilt’s campus.

Orji led the Commodores and finished among the top-10 in the SEC in tackles with 92. He added 13 tackles for loss, one sack, two QB hurries and a forced fumble. Pierce paced the Commodore receiving corps with 654 yards on 57 catches. Barr finished second on the team with 85 tackles.

2021 RISE Awards

O-Show Award
(Offensive Scout Team)
Wilson Long
Skull & Bones Award
(Defensive Scout Team)
Miles Capers
Rough Riders Award
(Special Teams Scout Team)
Marlen Sewell
Reaper Strength & Conditioning AwardCamden Coleman
Scholar of the YearHarrison Smith
Star Standards AwardElijah McAllister
Special Teams Player of the YearErrington Trusdell
Specialist of the YearJoseph Bulovas
Courage AwardBJ Anderson
Freshman of the YearPatrick Smith
Fighting Spirit AwardDashaun Jerkins
Offensive Trenches AwardTyler Steen
Defensive Trenches AwardNate Clifton
Humble Worker AwardKen Seals
Tough AwardJaylen Mahoney
Respect & Appreciation AwardMichael Warden
Most Improved Defensive PlayerMichael Owusu
Most Improved OffensiveMike Wright
Defensive Player of the YearEthan Barr
Offensive Player of the YearChris Pierce Jr.
Newcomer of the YearWill Sheppard
Team One AwardDaevion Davis
Most Valuable PlayerAnfernee Orji