Opponents Finalized for Football Season

LSU, Mississippi State added to SEC-only slate

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Vanderbilt’s two additional non-divisional SEC opponents for the upcoming season will be LSU and Mississippi State, as announced Friday on the SEC Network.

The two opponents will join Georgia, Florida, Kentucky, Missouri, Ole Miss, South Carolina, Tennessee and Texas A&M to complete Vanderbilt’s 10-game SEC-only schedule.

Vanderbilt’s home opponents include defending national champion LSU, Florida, Ole Miss, South Carolina and Tennessee.

The identification of each school’s two additional non-divisional opponents follows last week’s announcement of a 10-game season beginning Sept. 26. The SEC plans to publicly announce the dates for all games within the next two weeks as it continues to monitor developments around COVID-19.

“The safety of our student-athletes, staff, fans and overall campus community continues to be a top priority more now than ever as we grow closer to the start of football season,” said Candice Lee, vice chancellor for athletics and university affairs and athletic director. “We have been fully supportive of the SEC’s decision to move to a conference-game only model, as this schedule presents a path to move forward with competition. We have always understood the need to remain flexible, nimble and be prepared to adjust as information evolves in conjunction with health guidelines.

“We remain committed to taking the necessary measures to facilitate all aspects of the return to competition in as safe and responsible manner as possible. Our fans are an important part of game days, and we are considering several options related to game day participation for Commodore Nation. These plans will be informed by government, health and campus officials. We will continue to keep fans and season ticket holders updated as soon as decisions are made in this regard.”

Under normal circumstances, SEC schools play the other six teams in their division, two non-divisional opponents and four out-of-conference games each season.  In the newly revised schedule for 2020, each school will play four non-divisional opponents in addition to the other six teams in its division.