National Defensive Player of the Year Finalist

Liam Robbins is a finalist for the Lefty Driesell Award

NASHVILLE – Vanderbilt men’s basketball student-athlete Liam Robbins added another accolade on Thursday, being named a finalist for’s Lefty Driesell National Defensive Player of the Year award.

Robbins ranks third in the nation with 3.15 blocks per game and is sixth nationally with 82 blocks.

The Lefty Driesell Award, given annually to the top defensive player in Division I basketball, is named in honor of the legendary former coach.

The recipient of the 2023 award will be announced in March, in Houston – site of the men’s NCAA Basketball Championship.

Chase Audige – Northwestern
Ace Baldwin, Jr. – VCU
Aziz Bandaogo – Utah Valley
Reece Beekman – Virginia
Leaky Black – North Carolina
Moussa Cisse – Oklahoma State
Jaylen Clark – UCLA
Zach Edey – Purdue
Dajuan Harris Jr. – Kansas
D’Moi Hodge – Missouri
Trayce Jackson-Davis – Indiana
Malique Jacobs – Kent State
Ryan Kalkbrenner – Creighton
Malevy Leons – Bradley
Dereck Lively II – Duke
Javion May – Sam Houston
Caleb McConnell – Rutgers
Liam Robbins – Vanderbilt
Marcus Sasser – Houston
Jamarion Sharp – Western Kentucky
Jamal Shead – Houston
Kellen Tynes – Maine
Connor Vanover – Oral Roberts
Amari Williams – Drexel
Zakai Zeigler – Tennessee