Haye Named SEC Legend

Current Commodore assistant was All-SEC performer during playing career

NASHVILLE, Tenn. ­­– Jovan Haye, a former All-SEC performer on West End who currently serves on the Commodore defensive coaching staff, will be celebrated as Vanderbilt’s 2019 Football Legend at events surrounding the SEC Football Championship in Atlanta.

Haye, a native of Jamaica who moved to Florida as an elementary school student, ended his Vanderbilt career in 2004 as one of the program’s top modern-day defensive linemen. He returned to coach at his alma mater in 2018.

Haye and other SEC Legends representing every team in the conference will be recognized honored at the SEC Football “Weekend of Champions” Dec. 6-7 in Atlanta, highlighted by the annual SEC Legends Dinner on Dec. 6 at the Hyatt Regency. The group will also be recognized prior to the SEC Football Championship Game, which will be held at Mercedes-Benz Stadium on Dec. 7.

After starting 11 games as a redshirt freshman, Haye had a breakthrough season as a redshirt sophomore captain in 2003. He was named to the All-SEC team and was the Commodores’ most valuable defensive lineman after sharing the SEC regular season lead with 8.5 sacks, the most by a Commodore since 1994. Haye also was among the league leaders with 12.5 tackles for loss. That season, Haye topped the Commodore defensive line with 76 tackles (45 solo), three forced fumbles, 10 quarterback hurries and three defensed passes. He registered multiple sacks in three games, including a remarkable performance against nationally-ranked TCU where he registered three sacks, 4.5 tackles for loss, two forced fumbles and an interception.

As a redshirt junior captain facing consistent double-team blocks, Haye managed 48 tackles (31 solo) and 3.5 tackles for loss in 2004.

Haye was selected in the sixth round of the 2005 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. He played defensive end and defensive tackle with Carolina, Cleveland, Tampa Bay, Tennessee and Detroit. He registered 6.5 sacks among 185 tackles in a six-year professional career.

Haye joined Derek Mason’s staff in 2018, serving as a defensive quality control assistant. He was elevated to an assistant coach for the defensive line last winter.

During his NFL career, Haye returned to Vanderbilt to complete a degree in human and organizational development in 2007.

The 2019 SEC Football Legends class includes 14 former stars who excelled on the gridiron and helped write the rich history of the sport at their respective institutions. This year’s class includes All-Americans, All-SEC selections and Academic All-Americans as well as successful head coaches. The group represents teams that won national and SEC championships, participated in Super Bowl titles and are represented in state, school and college football halls of fame.

Other SEC legends to be recognized at SEC Championship Weekend are Alabama wide receiver/head coach Ray Perkins, Arkansas linebacker Dennis Winston, Auburn linebacker Carlos Dansby, Florida outside linebacker Jevon Kearse, Georgia head coach Vine Dolley, Kentucky defensive tackle Oliver Barnett, LSU halfback Johnny Robinson, Ole Miss kicker Jonathan Nichols, Mississippi Satte wide receiver Jeremy Maclin, South Carolina receiver Fred Zeigler, Tennessee defensive lineman Darwin Walker and Texas A&M linebacker Ed Simonini.

A full list of Vanderbilt’s SEC football legends follows:
2018 Zac Stacy • RB • 2009-12
2017 Don Orr • QB • 1954-56
2016 Chris Williams • OL • 2004-07
2015 Earl Bennett • WR • 2005-07
2014 Jonathan Goff • LB • 2004-07
2013 Jimmy Williams • RB/DB • 1997-2000
2012 Hunter Hillenmeyer • LB • 1999-2002
2011 Corey Harris • DB/RB • 1988-91
2010 Corey Chavous • DB • 1994-97
2009 Jamie Duncan • LB • 1995-97
2008 Shelton Quarles • LB • 1990-93
2007 Chuck Scott • WR/TE • 1981-84
2006 Eric Jones • QB • 1986-88
2005 Chris Gaines • LB • 1984-87
2004 Boo Mitchell, WR • 1985-88
2003 Whit Taylor • QB • 1972-82
2002 Jim Arnold • P • 1979-82
2001 Will Wolford • OT • 1982-85
2000 Herb Rich • RB • 1946-49
1999 Bob Werckle • OT • 1947-51
1998 Charley Horton • RB • 1952-55
1997 Bucky Curtis • WR • 1947-50
1996 John Hall • OL • 1951-54
1995 Bob Asher • OT • 1967-69
1994 Bill Wade • QB • 1949-51