Dores Earn Arthur Ashe Nods

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Eleven Vanderbilt student-athletes garnered added recognition as 2019 Arthur Ashe Jr. honorees in the latest issue of Diverse: Issues in Higher Education, the publication announced on Thursday.
The latest honors come after Vanderbilt football’s graduate student-athlete Khari Blasingame and bowling senior Kristin Quah were recognized by Diverse in March. Blasingame was named the 2019 Arthur Ashe Jr. Male Sports Scholar of the Year, while Quah was named the winner for women’s bowling.
Blasingame, along with Kentucky swimmer Asia Seidt, graces the front cover of the April 4 issue of Diverse and is featured in a cover story. That story can be found here.
Vanderbilt’s latest honorees were awarded first-, second-, third- or fourth-team honors within their respective sports. The newly recognized Commodores are as follows:
First Team
Khari Blasingame (football) Football Winner / Finalist / Male Sports Scholar of the Year
Vikram Chari (men’s tennis)
Kendall Derry (women’s track/cross country)
Kristin Quah (women’s bowling) Women’s Bowling Winner / Semifinalist
LaDarius Wiley (football)
Second Team
Nia Dorsey (women’s soccer)
Jennifer Edobi (women’s track/cross country)
Cameron Robinson (football)
Sara Tsai (women’s track/cross country)
Louise Yu (women’s golf)
Third Team
Leila Azari (women’s soccer)
Caleb Peart (football)
Fourth Team
Colin Anderson (football)
The annual Ashe Award recognizes outstanding minority young men and women who have distinguished themselves in their academic and athletic pursuits. Alongside athletic accomplishments, students named 2019 Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars maintained a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.5, achieve at least a sophomore standing academically and be active on their campuses or in their communities.