Freshmen Trio Honored by NTCA

Loredo, Naujokas and Thesier recognized

by Rod Williamson

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — Three Vanderbilt bowlers have been honored by the National Ten Pin Coaches Association with the announcement of the inaugural All-Freshman Honor Squad.

Jennifer Loredo, Amanda Naujokas and Caroline Thesier were among top 20 freshmen nationally in the Player Composite Performance Index, a set of 16 major statistical categories that are weighted and factored in an attempt to identify the top producing NCAA bowlers. In order to qualify for the team, freshmen must have competed in a minimum of 50 percent of their team’s frames during the season.

Vanderbilt’s three freshmen saw extensive playing time during a season in which the Commodores won the Southland Bowling League, reached the Elite Eight of the NCAA Championship and finished fourth in the final poll.

“Our head coaches have traditionally chosen our All-American team, Rookies of the Year and Coaches of the Year,” said Vanderbilt head coach and NTCA President John Williamson. “We thought it would be fitting to honor some of the many talented young women entering NCAA bowling.

“This inaugural team is an indication of just how much talent we are drawing to our sport.”

Loredo finished 14th at the 2021 Big Red Invitational with a 215.25 average. Naujokas was named to the Kat Klash Classic All-Tournament Team by finishing sixth with a 205.6 scoring average and Thesier was named to Kat Klash Classic All-Tournament Team by finishing fourth with a 205.6 scoring average.


The 2021 NTCA All-Freshman Honor Squad

Name School Hometown
Isabel Allen McKendree University Tamworth, England
Cassidy Anshcutz Lincoln Memorial University Webster, NY    
Denise Blankenzee Sam Houston State University Julianadorp, Netherlands
Brooklyn Boudreau Arkansas State University Snohomish, WA
Alyssa Breidegam Delaware State University Reading, PA
Paige Donovan Sacred Heart University Seaford, NY
Morgan Gitlitz Tulane University Freehold, NJ
Natalie Heltne Maryville University O’Fallon, IL
Melanie Katen North Carolina A&T State University San Jose, CA
Jennifer Loredo Vanderbilt University Fresno, CA
Madyson Marx Youngstown State University Maplewood, MN
Jordan Mundt Tusculum University Arlington, TN
Amanda Naujokas Vanderbilt University Lake Ronkonkoma, NY
Sarah Orensky Long Island University Freehold, NJ
Jamie Phelan Monmouth University Happy Valley, Australia
Savanna Razor Alabama State University Columbia, SC
Shannon Small Duquesne University Pittsburgh, PA
Julianna Spina Fairleigh Dickinson University East Islip, NY
Caroline Thesier Vanderbilt University Mooresville, NC
Keagan Trexler Maryville University Cicero, IN
Kayla Verstraete University of Nebraska Loves Park, IL