Commodores Win in Double Overtime

Late-game heroics keep Vanderbilt perfect for 2019 season

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Vanderbilt wrapped up the Music City Invitational with a 3-2 victory over Marshall in double overtime on Sunday afternoon at the Vanderbilt Soccer/Lacrosse Complex.

It took 109 minutes, but the ninth-ranked Commodores (6-0) prevailed with a game-winning goal from Raegan Kelley in the final minute.

Haley Hopkins beat several defenders up the right sideline and into the 18-yard box to set up the play. Her cross through the middle of the box found Kelley, who fired a shot past the goalkeeper into the back-left corner of the net.

Kelley finished with her first multi-goal game of her career and Hopkins posted two assists.

The Dores took a 2-1 lead into halftime, but let up an equalizing goal in the 78th minute.

The Commodores fell behind 1-0 in the ninth minute for their first deficit of 2019, but were quick to answer.

In the 18th minute, Nia Dorsey set up a corner kick for the Commodores after her cross attempt was deflected out of bounds. Maddie Elwell took the corner and found Peyton Cutshall at the far side of the six-yard box.

Cutshall rose above the Marshall defenders and sent a header into the back of the net to tie the game at a goal apiece. It was Cutshall’s second goal of the season and Elwell’s team-high sixth assist.

Dorsey was on the end of Vanderbilt’s second goal as well. After receiving a pass from Haley Hopkins down the right sideline, she sent a cross into the box. This time it was Kelley knocking the header into the net for the 2-1 lead.

Vanderbilt also had three members on the Music City All-Tournament team. Nia Dorsey, Grace Jackson and Raegan Kelley earned recognition for their play. Dorsey finished the weekend with one goal and one assist while Kelley had two goals.

Jackson started both games and only sat out 14 minutes combined. The senior midfielder has now played and started 68 straight games for the Commodores

The Commodores continued its streak of 17 straight games with an undefeated mark at home. Marshall was also the first team to score on Vanderbilt this season.

Vanderbilt continues its non-conference slate on Thursday at 6 p.m. CT against Chattanooga. Admission to Thursday’s slate is free and will be broadcast on SEC Network+.


All-Tournament Team

Kelly Chiavaro – GK
Sydney Maxson – D

Maycie McKay – F
Molly Grant – F
Olivia Doak – F
Leah Cernicky – MF

Mary Lawman – MF
Rene Ross – MF
Lindsay Langley – GK

Nia Dorsey – D
Raegan Kelley – MF
Grace Jackson – MF