All-SEC Honorees

Rosca, Lee earn 2021 SEC Women's Tennis honors

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Vanderbilt’s Christina Rosca and Anessa Lee have been named to the All-SEC teams announced by the league office Thursday afternoon.

Now a three-time First Team All-SEC honoree, Rosca has earned a spot on the top team three of the last four seasons with the only miss the canceled 2020 season. Lee, the team’s leader for singles wins across the 2020-21 campaign, was named to the SEC All-Freshman Team and joins Rosca and Amanda Meyer as current Commodores to have been named to the team in their first seasons with the program.

Rosca, who is ranked No. 44 in the latest Oracle/ITA rankings, owns a 13-5 singles mark with a 15-7 doubles record to go 28-12 this season. Working her way back into form after injury, Rosca powered her way back to No. 1 singles for the Commodores and owns three wins over nationally-ranked opposition this spring. She earned her 200th overall win at Vanderbilt on Feb. 22 against LSU and picked up her 100th singles win in the season opener against Western Kentucky. She also stands one doubles victory away from reaching the century mark for her time in black and gold.

In her debut campaign with the Commodores, Lee owns a 16-8 singles record while adding 15 more wins in doubles. Her 16 singles wins are the most by a Commodore this season. A mainstay in Vanderbilt’s lineup from the start, Lee took down her first ranked opponent against No. 15 Florida, beating No. 111 Sara Dahlstrom 6-1, 6-2 earlier this month while previously taking Georgia’s No. 73 Morgan Coppoc to three sets in Vandy’s upset bid of the third-ranked Bulldogs at the end of March.

Rosca and Lee paired together in doubles for all but two matches and posted a 12-4 record, mostly at No. 3. Together, the duo defeated its lone ranked foe in swift 6-0 fashion by beating No. 57 Anastasia Tkachenko and Lesedi Jacobs of No. 31 Kentucky. To start the season, the two won each of their first seven matches together and 10 of the first 12.

With the SEC Tournament in the books, 27th-ranked Vanderbilt’s season will now turn the page to the NCAA Tournament next week. Selections for the tournament are scheduled for 5 p.m. CT on Monday evening.

First Team All-SEC
Indianna Spink, Arkansas
McCartney Kessler, Florida
Katarina Jokic, Georgia
Meg Kowalski, Georgia
Lea Ma, Georgia
Morgan Coppoc, Georgia
Akvilė Paražinskaitė, Kentucky
Fiona Arrese, Kentucky
Sabina Machalova, Ole Miss
Emma Antonaki, Mississippi State
Mia Horvit, South Carolina
Tatiana Makarova, Texas A&M
Christina Rosca, Vanderbilt

Second Team All-SEC
Alba Cortina Pou, Alabama
Selin Ovunc, Auburn
Carolyn Ansari, Auburn
Ida Jarlskog, Florida
Marlee Zein, Florida
Paris Corley, LSU
Taylor Bridges, LSU
Safiya Carrington, LSU
Tiphanie Fiquet, Ole Miss
Magda Adaloglou, Mississippi State
Bronte Murgett, Missouri
Megan Davies, South Carolina
Rebeka Mertena, Tennessee
Daria Kuczer, Tennessee

Loudmilla Bencheikh, Alabama
Anna Parkhomenko, Alabama
Indianna Spink, Arkansas
Morgan Cross, Arkansas
Sara Dahlstrom, Florida
Fiona Arrese, Kentucky
Anessa Lee, Vanderbilt

Player of the Year
Katarina Jokic, Georgia

Freshmen of the Year
Indianna Spink, Arkansas

Newcomer of the Year
Lea Ma, Georgia

Coach of the Year
Jeff Wallace, Georgia