Four Earn All-SEC Honors

Matthew Riedel, Cole Sherwood, Gordon Sargent, and Jackson Van Paris earn All-SEC accolades

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – The Vanderbilt men’s golf team was well-represented on the 2024 SEC postseason awards list Friday, as a quartet of Commodores earned All-SEC honors.

Vanderbilt had a league-best three golfers selected to the All-SEC first team, as graduate student Matthew Riedel, senior Cole Sherwood, and junior Gordon Sargent each earned the distinction. Junior Jackson Van Paris earned a pair of conference honors, as he was named to the All-SEC second team and the SEC Community Service Team.

It is the third-straight year that Sargent has earned first-team all-conference honors. The All-American becomes the third Commodore to pick up three or more All-SEC first team selections in program history, joining Luke List and Matthias Schwab.

Sargent, who recently was named a finalist for the 2024 Ben Hogan Award, is currently ranked No. 2 in the World Amateur Golf Rankings and seventh in the CLIPPD rankings. He has posted four top-five finishes during the 2023-24 season and holds a scoring average of 69.93 through nine collegiate tournaments. The 2022 NCAA national champion closed the 2023-24 regular season by winning the Mason Rudolph Championship for the second straight year. The victory at the 2024 Mason Rudolph extended Sargent’s program record for all-time wins to six.

Riedel was selected to the All-SEC first team for the second-straight season. The Houston, Texas, native has had a stellar 2023-24 campaign, holding a team-best scoring average of 69.59 through 10 tournaments. Riedel is tied for second in stroke play at the 2024 SEC Championship, as he carded 6-under 204. The All-American also posted a runner-up finish at the Valspar Collegiate Invitational and has collected six top-10 finishes this season. Riedel has placed inside the top five at four tournaments. The graduate student is currently No. 3 in the PGA Tour U. rankings and is 12th in the CLIPPD rankings heading into the 2024 NCAA West Lafayette Regional.

It’s also the second All-SEC first team selection for Sherwood, as he earned first-team all-league honors in 2022. It is Sherwood’s fourth career All-SEC selection, as he was All-SEC second team in 2023 and All-SEC freshman team in 2021. The Austin, Texas, native won the 2023 Ben Hogan Collegiate Invitational in October. He has collected six top-10 finishes and holds a scoring average of 69.97 for the season. Sherwood posted a top-10 finish at the 2024 SEC Championship after he carded 4-under 206. The senior is currently No. 6 in the PGA Tour U. rankings, while he is 18th in the CLIPPD rankings.

For Van Paris, it is his first career All-SEC honor. The junior has enjoyed a breakout season that has seen the Pinehurst, North Carolina, native collect his first collegiate win and make his PGA Tour debut. Van Paris scored his first collegiate victory at the 2023 St Andrews Links Collegiate, winning stroke play with a two-round total of 9-under 131. The junior also made his PGA Tour debut at the 2024 Puerto Rico Open in March, finishing in a tie for 10th. Van Paris went a perfect 3-0-0 in match play at the 2024 SEC Championship. He has posted four top-10 finishes and holds a scoring average of 70.19 this season.

The Vanderbilt men’s golf team heads into 2024 West Lafayette Regional as the tournament’s No. 1 seed. The regional will take place May 13-15 in West Lafayette, Indiana, at Birck Boilermaker Golf Complex. Check back with for a full tournament preview.

For more information and exclusive content on the Vanderbilt men’s golf team, follow @VandyMGolf on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter/X.

2023-24 SEC Postseason Awards

PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Jackson Koivun, Auburn

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR – Jackson Koivun, Auburn

SCHOLAR-ATHLETE OF THE YEAR – Cole Sherwood, Vanderbilt & Alex Goff, Kentucky

COACH OF THE YEAR – Nick Clinard, Auburn

Jackson Koivun, Auburn
Michael La Sasso, Ole Miss
Jack Lundin, Missouri
Brendan Valdes, Auburn
Gordon Sargent, Vanderbilt
Matthew Riedel, Vanderbilt
Jacob Skov Olesen, Arkansas
Cole Sherwood, Vanderbilt

Phichaksn Maichon, Texas A&M
Jake Hall, Tennessee
Bryce Lewis, Tennessee
Alex Goff, Kentucky
Ian Gilligan, Florida
J.M. Butler, Auburn
Jackson Van Paris, Vanderbilt
Ben van Wyk, Georgia

Jackson Koivun, Auburn
Jack Turner, Florida
Josiah Gilbert, Auburn
Camden Smith, Georgia
Jay Mendell, LSU
Thomas Curry, Arkansas
Bruce Murphy, Tennessee

Thomas Ponder, Alabama
Kaelen Dulany, Arkansas
Ryan Eshleman, Auburn
Rylan Shim, Florida
Caleb Manuel, Georgia
Tanner Parks, Kentucky
Connor Gaunt, LSU
Tom Fischer, Ole Miss
Jack Lundin, Missouri
Rafe Reynolds, South Carolina
Vishnu Sadagopan, Texas A&M
Jackson Van Paris, Vanderbilt