Commodores Have 22 Named Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars

Student-athletes from nine different programs honored

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — Highlighted by a pair of individual sport winners, 22 Vanderbilt student-athletes were recognized as 2023 Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars.

Featured in the group are seven first-team selections including Kaira Brown, the sport award winner from women’s track and field/cross country who was a finalist for Female Athlete of the Year, and women’s golf sport award winner Jayna Choi.

In order to be named an Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar, student-athletes must maintain at least a 3.5 cumulative grade-point average in addition to their athletic ability, be at least a sophomore academically and be active on their campuses or in their communities.

2023 Vanderbilt Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars

Quentin Millora-BrownMen's BasketballFirst Team
Jennifer LoredoBowlingFirst Team
Alex BrownFootballFourth Team
Malik LanghamFootballThird Team
Elijah McAllisterFootballFirst Team
Michael OwusuFootballSecond Team
Maxwell WorshipFootballFirst Team
Jayne ChoiWomen's GolfFirst Team (Sport Winner)
Virginie DingWomen's GolfSecond Team
Ariel YuWomen's GolfSecond Team
Jackie NuchowLacrosseFirst Team
Sammy NuchowLacrosseFirst Team
Tina BruniSoccerThird Team
Chantal JordanSwimmingSecond Team
Alina StoutSwimmingSecond Team
Clare VetkoetterSwimmingSecond Team
Anessa LeeWomen's TennisThird Team
Kaira BrownWomen's Track & Field/XCFirst Team (Sport Winner and Female Finalist)
Madison FullerWomen's Track & Field/XCThird Team
Niki NarayaniWomen's Track & Field/XCSecond Team
Taiya ShelbyWomen's Track & Field/XCFourth Team
Jada SimsWomen's Track & Field/XCThird Team