Vanderbilt finish 12th at SEC Championships

Event: SEC Championships
Date: Friday, Oct. 28
Site: Agri Park in Fayetteville, Ark.
Host: Arkansas
Coverage: A one-hour SEC Cross Country Championships highlight show will be broadcast on the SEC Network on Sunday, Nov. 6 at 10 a.m. (CT).

Live Results l Championship Central l History and Records

Paced by another impressive performance by sophomore Sara Tsai, the Vanderbilt women’s cross country team grabbed a fifth-place finish at the SEC Championships on Friday in Fayetteville, Ark.

Tsai posted a time of 20:53.20 to take 11th place and earn a spot on the All-SEC Second Team. Tsai has paced the Commodores in all five of their races this season.

“Sara ran a great race,” said head coach Steve Keith. “She ran with the front group throughout the race, and to see her earn All-SEC honors — and have a significant improvement from last year — was great to see.”

Maddie Criscione was the second Commodore across the line, finishing 41st at 21:42.80. She was followed closely by Reagan Anderson, 43rd at 21:48.90, Carmen Carlos, 44th at 21:49.90, and Megan Huebner, 50th at 21:56.70.

Vanderbilt was in 10th place at the 2k mark, but the tight pack — formed by Criscione, Anderson, Carlos and Huebner — made a surge and boosted the team’s score by almost 100 points by climbing up to fifth.

“This was a much better team effort than we have shown the previous two races,” said Keith, “and puts us in the conversation come NCAA Regionals.”

Also representing Vanderbilt were: 69. Ginger Hutton, 69th at 22:15.80; Reagan Bustmante, 75th at 22:18.60, Mailin Struck, 87th at 22:38.30; Devon Grisbaum, 97th at 23:01.00, Courtney Kriegshauser, 101st at 23:04.10; Lauren Moffett, 113th at 23:24.30 and Kendall Derry, 128th at 24:05.50.

The injury-hampered Commodores finished 12th in the men’s race. Jake Van Geffen led the way, finishing 56th at 25:57.10.

“It was a competitive effort by the men,” said Keith, “and I can’t say enough about Jake and the leadership he has provided, both on the course and off.”

Van Geffen was followed by Nikolas Gkotsis, who was 65th at 26:06.70, Evan Suzman, 77th at 26:32.00, Jason Vincze, 80th 26:41.50 and Sam DeFabrizio, 89th 27:00.10 in Vanderbilt’s top-5. Harrison Thomas was 90th at 27:03.70 and Waqqas Fazili was 106th at 30:05.90.

11. Sara Tsai 20:53.20
41. Maddie Criscione 21:42.80
43. Reagan Anderson 21:48.90
44. Carmen Carlos 21:49.90
50. Megan Huebner 21:56.70
69. Ginger Hutton 22:15.80
75. Reagan Bustmante 22:18.60
87. Mailin Struck 22:38.30
97. Devon Grisbaum 23:01.00
101. Courtney Kriegshauser 23:04.10
113. Lauren Moffett 23:24.30
128. Kendall Derry 24:05.50

1. Arkansas 46
2. Ole Miss 76
3. Missouri 125
4. Miss. State 138
5. Vanderbilt 170
6. Alabama 170
7. Kentucky 180
8. Florida 185
9. Auburn 207
10. Georgia 225
11. Texas A&M 263
12. LSU 366
13. South Carolina 385
14. Tennessee 393

56. Jake Van Geffen 25:57.10
65. Nikolas Gkotsis 26:06.70
77. Evan Suzman 26:32.00
80. Jason Vincze 26:41.50
89. Sam DeFabrizio 27:00.10
90. Harrison Thomas 27:03.70
106. Waqqas Fazili 30:05.90

1. Arkansas 25
2. Ole Miss 38
3. Kentucky 100
4. Georgia 149
5. Alabama 152
6. Missouri 156
7. Texas A&M 191
8. Florida 207
9. Tennessee 275
10. Auburn 278
11. LSU 296
12. Vanderbilt 319

Women’s First Team All-SEC
Karissa Schweizer, Missouri
Devin Clark, Arkansas
Katy Kunc, Kentucky
Veronica Eder, Auburn
Jamie Kempfer, Missouri
Elisabeth Bergh, Florida
Mary Alex England, Ole Miss

Women’s Second Team All-SEC
Bo Ummels, Ole Miss
Abby Gray, Arkansas
Valerie Reina, Arkansas
Sara Tsai, Vanderbilt
Therese Haiss, Arkansas
Nikki Hiltz, Arkansas
Jessica Drop, Georgia

Women’s Freshman All-SEC Team
Abby Gray, Arkansas
Jessica Drop, Georgia
Taylor Werner, Arkansas
McKenzie Yanek, Alabama
Carina Viljoen, Arkansas
Samantha Drop, Georgia
Jessica Pascoe, Florida

Men’s First Team All-SEC
Alex George, Arkansas
Sean Tobin, Ole Miss
MJ Erb, Ole Miss
Jack Bruce, Arkansas
Frankline Tonui, Arkansas
Andrew Ronoh, Arkansas
Jacob Thomson, Kentucky

Men’s Second Team All-SEC
Antibahs Kosgei, Alabama
Austen Dalquist, Arkansas
Robert Domanic, Ole Miss
Craig Engels, Ole Miss
Wes Gallagher, Ole Miss
Ryan Manahan, Ole Miss
Drew White, Missouri

Men’s Freshman All-SEC
Carter Persyn, Arkansas
Jon Bishop, Texas A&M
Matthew Thomas, Kentucky
Brennan Fields, Kentucky
Michael Widmann, Missouri
Colin Schaefer, Florida
James Brinyark, Alabama