Vanderbilt Defeats Iowa State, 62-53Video Highlights, Photos & Interviews

Nov. 25, 2007




media_icon_photogallery.gif John Russell’s Photos | ticketthumb.jpgSeason Tickets Start at $25

View Box Score | Game Quotes | 2007-08 Season Stats

Next Home Game: Wed., Nov. 28, vs. No. 9 Duke at 7 p.m. CT

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) — Lauren Lueders scored a career-high 14 points to help Vanderbilt beat Iowa State 62-53 on Sunday in the championship game of the Vanderbilt Thanksgiving Tournament.

“It’s good to get a win period,” said Vanderbilt head coach Melanie Balcomb. “It’s good to start to get some momentum after losing to Indiana State. I think to win two is really helping to build confidence.”

Tournament MVP Christina Wirth added 10 points and six assists for the Commodores (5-1). Merideth Marsh had 11 points, and Amber Norton finished with 10.

“Amber (Norton) just came in and was a difference maker, not just on offense but on defense she did a great job,” added Balcomb. “We had trouble stopping them in the post, so I went with Amber for her defense and then she ended up doing really well offensively.”

Nicky Wieben had 15 points and nine rebounds for Iowa State (4-1).

The Cyclones outrebounded the Commodores 31-30, including 19-14 in the first half, but committed 18 turnovers.

“What we wanted to do was pressure the basketball. That was our number one goal,” said Balcomb. “You saw us really out there pressuring so Iowa State couldn’t make passes. They love to skip pass, spread the floor, skip it, shoot the three and then go inside, similar to what we do. We just really wanted to take them out of their game by pressuring the ball and dictating on defense and I think we did a great job of doing that.”

Vanderbilt returns to action this Wednesday to host No. 9 Duke at Memorial Gym at 7 p.m. CT. Fans can order tickets by calling 615.322.GOLD (option 1).

2007 Vanderbilt Thanksgiving All-Tournament Team
Christina Wirth, Vanderbilt — MVP
Jennifer Risper, Vanderbilt
Liz Sherwood, Vanderbilt
Alison Lacey, Iowa State
Nicky Wieben, Iowa State
Krista Phillips, Michigan