Van Geffen leads Commodores at SEC Championships

Oct. 30, 2015

Day, Date: Friday, Oct. 30
Site: College Station, Texas — Dale Watts Cross Country Course
Host: Texas A&M
Live Results: HERE
Championship Central: HERE
Host Championship Central: HERE
TV coverage: Highlights of the meet will air on the SEC Network on Sunday, Nov. 8 at 11:30 a.m. CT.

Continuing his strong season, Vanderbilt’s Jake Van Geffen paced the Commodores — and finished 65th overall — with a time of 25:08.70 at the SEC Championships in College Station, Texas.

Vanderbilt finished 13th in the 13-team field. The No. 8-ranked Arkansas men won the SEC title for the sixth consecutive year, finishing with just 25 points. It was the 23rd SEC championship in the past 25 years for the Razorbacks. Texas A&M was a distant second with 98 points and Ole Miss was third at 122.

Vanderbilt’s Nick French was the second Commodore across the line, finishing 79th at 25:33.20. Jason Vincze was 97th at 26:03.40, Sam Reilly was 106th at 26:38.80 and Nikolaos Gkotsis was 107th at 26:45.70.

“The guys have put in a lot of great effort, and we are proud of what they’ve done this season,” said head coach Steve Keith. “Jake ran a really good race today. His time was almost identical to the time he posted at Notre Dame (where he earned an 11th-place finish), and that says a lot for his performance.”

Vanderbilt now begins preparations for the NCAA Regionals, which will be held in two weeks in Tuscaloosa, Ala.

65. Jake Van Geffen 25:08.70
79. Nick French 25:33.20
97. Jason Vincze 26:03.40
106. Sam Reilly 26:38.80
107. Nikolaos Gkotsis 26:45.70
109. Waqqas Fazili 26:57.40
110. Evan Suzman 27:00.10
112. Caleb Casolaro 27:19.60

1. Arkansas 25
2. Texas A&M 98
3. Ole Miss 122
4. Kentucky 129
5. Georgia 142
6. Missouri 146
7. Florida 170
8. Auburn 198
9. Alabama 203
10. Miss. State 280
11. Tennessee 301
12. LSU 322
13. Vanderbilt 391

Men’s First-Team All-SEC
Antibahs Kosgei, Alabama
Christian Heymsfield, Arkansas
Frankline Tonui, Arkansas
Jacob Thomson, Kentucky
Alex George, Arkansas
Austen Dalquist, Arkansas
Jimmy Clark, Florida

Men’s Second-Team All-SEC
Cameron Villarreal, Texas A&M
Gabe Gonzales, Arkansas
Jack Bruce, Arkansas
Eddie Garcia, Florida
Zack Sims, Georgia
Alex Riba, Texas A&M
Austin Wells, Texas A&M

Men’s SEC All-Freshman Team
Dajour Braxton, LSU
Reilly Shaw, Auburn
Ben Young, Kentucky
Brandon Harvey, Ole Miss
Jack Guyton, Florida
Zach Long, Tennessee
Cameron Griffith, Florida