Four Commodores Honored by SBL

FRISCO, Texas — Vanderbilt’s Maria Bulanova and Samantha Gainor have been named to the Southland Bowling League’s All-Conference first team while teammates Adel Wahner and Jordan Newham were also honored for their play during the 2018-19 season.
Bulanova had been announced as the SBL’s Player of the Year prior to the conference tournament following a dominating season in which she made five all-tournament teams, earning most valuable player honors at the Prairie View Invitational and the Columbia 300 Music City Classic. Her clutch play from her anchor position helped propel Vanderbilt to three consecutive tournament victories and a school-record tying five tourney wins on the season. She led the SBL in many statistical categories including individual scoring (21.91/frame).
Gainor came on strong as the year progressed, making five all-tournament teams and jumping into the upper echelons of many NCAA statistical categories. Her consistent play ahead of Bulanova in the rotation gave Vanderbilt one of the strongest finishing pairs in collegiate bowling.
Wahner was named to the SBL’s second team, a conference that sports four of the nation’s top six ranked teams. The New Mexico native was also known for her steady play, leading the nation in filled frame percentage at 89 percent.
Newham was named to the honorable mention unit and has been a mainstay for the Commodores throughout her four-year career. Her season was highlighted by a third-place finish at the Kutztown Invitational when she averaged 235, fifth-best in program history.
The complete SBL first team consisted of Bulanova, Gainor, Dakotah Hazelwood of Stephen F. Austin, Bea Hernandez of Sam Houston State and Kaitlyn Eder of Louisiana Tech.
2019 Southland Bowling League All-Conference First Team

Name School Cl. Hometown
Maria Bulanova Vanderbilt Jr. Moscow, Russia
Samantha Gainor Vanderbilt So. Chesterfield, Mich.
Dakotah Hazlewood Stephen F. Austin Sr. Capron, Ill.
Bea Hernandez Sam Houston State Fr. Bambang Pasig City, Philippines
Kaitlyn Eder Louisiana Tech So. Lithia, Fla.

Second Team

Name School Cl. Hometown
Julia Huren Arkansas State Jr. Westland, Mich.
Denisyha Waller Arkansas State Sr. Markham, Ill.
Adel Wahner Vanderbilt Jr. Las Cruces, N.M.
Leah Glazer Arkansas State So. Henderson, Nev.
Tiera Gulum Tulane Sr. Schenectady, N.Y.

Honorable Mention

Name School Cl. Hometown
Paige Beeney Stephen F. Austin Sr. Salado, Texas
Madysen Keller Sam Houston State Sr. Mathews, N.C.
Taylor Davis Arkansas State So. Davison, Mich.
Sarah Gill Stephen F. Austin Sr. Texarkana, Texas
Jordan Newham Vanderbilt Sr. Aurora, Ill.
Madison McCall Tulane So. Myrtle Beach, S.C.
Carlene Beyer Stephen F. Austin Fr. Ogdensburg, Wis.
Katelyn Dickerson Sam Houston State Jr. Painesville, Ohio
Hayley Connelly Sam Houston State So. Hazlet, N.J.
Nikki Mendez Youngstown State Jr. Homer Glen, Ill.