Sherwood on Haskins Award Watch List

Vandy sophomore up for prestigious annual award

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — Vanderbilt’s Cole Sherwood has been named to the Spring Haskins Award Watch List, the Haskins Foundation announced Tuesday.

Sherwood, recently named SEC Golfer of the Week for the second time this season, won the Mason Rudolph Championship on April 3. Sherwood shot a 63 in the opening round of the event and finished at 17-under-par after 54 holes.

His three-day total was one shot short of a tournament record and his 196 tied the program mark for a 54-hole low score which Sherwood himself set earlier this season.

Sherwood has four top-five finishes this season and also won the Cabo Collegiate on March 1.

Ludvig Aberg of Texas Tech, Sam Bennett of Texas A&M, Fred Biondi of Florida, Michael Brennan of Wake Forest, Adrien Dumont de Chassart of Illinois, Pierceson Coody of Texas, Chris Gotterup of Oklahoma, Palmer Jackson of Notre Dame, Frederik Kjettrup of Florida State, Eugenio Lopez-Chacarra of Oklahoma State, R.J. Manke of Washington, Logan McAllister of Oklahoma, Trent Phillips of Georgia, Cameron Sisk of Arizona State and Michael Thorbjornsen of Stanford join Sherwood on the list.

Celebrating its 52nd year, the Fred Haskins Award presented by Stifel has been given to players who have gone to capture 32 major championships and more than 400 professional tournaments around the world. Past recipients include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Ben Crenshaw and Justin Thomas.

John Pak (Florida State) won the 51st Haskins Award in 2021.

The Fred Haskins Award is the oldest individual college golf award and the only award to be voted on by players, coaches, golf SID’s and select golf media. Golf Channel and Golfweek are media partners for the Fred Haskins Award.