Sargent, Sherwood on Final Haskins Award Watch List

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — Two of Vanderbilt’s own have been named finalists for college golf’s most-prestigious award.

Cole Sherwood and Gordon Sargent were each announced as honorees on the final Fred Haskins Award List, the Haskins Foundation unveiled Monday. The winner will be announced May 31 on the GOLF Channel.

Sherwood and Sargent have had sensational seasons for the Commodores. The duo have combined for three wins, nine top-five finishes and 14 top-10 placements and they both lead Vandy in stroke average at a shade over 70.

A sophomore, Sherwood has put together one of the best spring campaigns in the history of Vanderbilt golf. He captured wins at the Cabo Collegiate and Mason Rudolph and his 61 at the Cabo Collegiate set a Vanderbilt 18-hole record. Sherwood’s 54-hole total of 196 at the Cabo Collegiate also set a Vandy record.

Sherwood, from Austin, Texas, tied for third during the stroke play portion of the SEC Championships and was named first team All-SEC.

Sargent has made an immediate impact for the Commodores from the outset. A freshman, Sargent won the Mossy Oak Collegiate in April with a 12-under-par 204. The SEC’s Freshman of the Year came in second place during stroke play at the SEC Championships and tied for fourth at the Palm Beach Regional.

Sherwood and Sargent are 2 of 10 finalists for the Haskins Award and Vanderbilt is 1 of 2 programs (Oklahoma) to have multiple players eligible for the honor. Ludvig Aberg of Texas Tech, Sam Bennett of Texas A&M, Fred Biondi of Florida, Chris Gotterup and Logan McAllister of Oklahoma, Eugenio Lopez-Chacarra of Oklahoma State, R.J. Manke of Washington  and Trent Phillips of Georgia are also on the list.

Celebrating its 52nd year, the Fred Haskins Award presented by Stifel has been given to players who have captured 32 major championships and more than 400 professional tournaments around the world. Past recipients include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Ben Crenshaw, and Justin Thomas. John Pak (FSU) won the 51st Haskins Award in 2021.

The Fred Haskins Award is the oldest individual college golf award and the only award to be voted on by players, coaches, golf SID’s and select golf media.