Productive Trio Attending SEC Media Days

Lipscomb, Pinkney, Vaughn joining Coach Mason July 18

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – All-America candidates Kalija Lipscomb, Jared Pinkney and Ke’Shawn Vaughn will join Vanderbilt head coach Derek Mason next week at Southeastern Conference Football Media Days, the league announced Wednesday.

Lipscomb, Pinkney, Vaughn and Mason will appear July 18 as the highly-anticipated SEC Media Days returns to the Wynfrey Hotel near Birmingham after being held at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta in 2018.

The Commodore contingent is scheduled for more than three hours of continuous interviews starting at 9 a.m.

SEC Media Days has grown into college football’s biggest preseason spectacle. More than 1,000 media members representing print, radio, television, and web-based affiliates attended the four-day event last year.

This marks the first SEC Media Days appearance for Lipscomb, a senior wide receiver from New Orleans, Pinkney, a redshirt senior tight end from Norcross, Georgia, and Vaughn, a redshirt senior running back from Nashville. All three rank among the SEC active leaders at their positions.

“I’m excited for Kalija, Jared and Ke’Shawn to have this opportunity to represent their teammates, our football team and Vanderbilt University,” Mason said. “All three of these men made a decision to return for their final year at Vanderbilt, are among the SEC’s proven performers, and are tremendous teammates. They are very deserving of this opportunity.”

Lipscomb, from Jesuit (La.) High School, is coming off one of the best seasons ever by a Vanderbilt receiver. He finished the year with an SEC-leading 87 receptions, good for 916 yards and nine touchdowns. Lipscomb’s 2018 reception total ranks fourth all-time among Commodores.

Lipscomb has been named as a preseason first team All-SEC recipient by Athlon Sports, Phil Steele and Lindy’s. Lipscomb enters his senior campaign among Vanderbilt’s all-time leaders with 151 receptions, 1,845 receiving yards and 19 touchdown catches.

Pinkney, a product of Norcross (Ga.) High School, enters the year as the most productive Vanderbilt tight end since the mid-1980’s. In 2018, he registered 50 catches, 774 receiving yards and seven touchdowns. Pinkney’s receiving yardage total is the most of any returning tight end in the nation. For his career, Pinkney has 94 catches, 1,327 receiving yards and 12 touchdown catches.

Pinkney has earned preseason All-America recognition from The Sporting News and Phil Steele. He has been included on nearly every preseason All-SEC ballot.

Vaughn, a product of Nashville’s Pearl-Cohn High School, was splendid in his first year as a Commodore in 2018. He finished the season with 1,244 rushing yards, the second-highest total in team history, 12 rushing touchdowns and a SEC-best 7.9 yards per carry. Vaughn also was the SEC’s most explosive running back last year, producing 10 rushes of at least 40 yards and six carries of at least 60 yards. He concluded the year with a remarkable individual performance in the Texas Bowl — 243 rushing yards and two touchdowns on 13 carries.

Vaughn has been tabbed to preseason All-America teams by Athlon Sports and Phil Steele and has been listed on virtually every preseason All-SEC squad.

Continuous coverage of SEC Media Days will be available on the SEC Network and the SEC’s official website, and @VandyFootball will also provide exclusive, behind-the-scenes coverage of Mason and the Vanderbilt student-athletes.

A complete list of current and former Vanderbilt student-athletes who have participated in SEC Media Days follows:
2018 — Kyle Shurmur (QB), Justin Skule (OL), LaDarius Wiley (DB)
2017 — Oren Burks (LB), Kyle Shurmur (QB), Ralph Webb (RB)
2016 — Oren Burks (LB), Zach Cunningham (LB), Ralph Webb (RB)
2015 — Nigel Bowden (LB), Spencer Pulley (OL), Ralph Webb (RB)
2014 — Adam Butler (DL), Steven Scheu (TE), Andrew Williamson (DB)
2013 — Andre Hal (DB), Wesley Johnson (OL), Jordan Matthews (WR)
2012 — Jordan Rodgers (QB), Zac Stacy (RB), Trey Wilson (DB)
2011 — Casey Hayward (DB), Chris Marve (LB), Larry Smith (QB)
2010 — Chris Marve (LB), Warren Norman (RB), John Stokes (LB)
2009 — Bradley Vierling (OL), Myron Lewis (DB)
2008 — George Smith (WR), Reshard Langford (DB)
2007 — Earl Bennett (WR), Jonathan Goff (LB)
2006 — Brian Stamper (OL), Jonathan Goff (LB)
2005 — Jay Cutler (QB), Moses Osemwegie (LB)
2004 — Jay Cutler (QB), Jovan Haye (DL)
2003 — Jay Cutler (QB), Jovan Haye (DL)
2002 — Dan Stricker (WR), Rushen Jones (DB)
2001 — Greg Zolman (QB), Nate Morrow (LB)
2000 — Elliott Carson (TE), Jamie Winborn (LB)
1999 — Ainsley Battles (DB), Todd Yoder (TE/WR)
1998 — Clay Condrey (OL), Fred Vinson (DB)
1997 — Corey Chavous (DB), Jamie Duncan (LB)
1996 — Matt Schuckman (DL), Eric Vance (DB)
1995 — Robert Couch (OL), James Manley (DL)
1994 — Gerald Collins (LB), Eric Lewis (RB)
1993 — Eric Dahlberg (OL), Shelton Quarles (LB)
1992 — Clarence Sevillian (WR), Robbie Young (DB)
1991 — Bob Craycraft (OL), Rod Keith (DL)
1990 — Kevin Brothen (OL), Corey Harris (DB)
1989 — John Gromos (QB), DeMond Winston (LB)