Kim Invited to Curtis Cup

Vanderbilt junior one of 12 to participate in practice session

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — Vanderbilt’s Auston Kim has been invited to a practice session for the 2021 Curtis Cup.

Selected by the USGA’s International Team Selection Committee Kim is one of 12 golfers  headed to Lake Nona Golf and Country Club in Orlando, Florida, for the 41st Curtis Cup Match. The Curtis Cup was originally scheduled for June 12-14, 2020, at Conwy Golf Club in Caernarvonshire, Wales, before being postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The Match will now be held at Conwy Golf Club on Aug. 26-28.

A junior, Kim opted out of the 2020 fall season for the Commodores but is expected to return to competition during the 2021 spring schedule. She’ll join Allisen Corpuz of Southern California, Lauren Hartlage of Louisville, Gina Kim of Duke, Rachel Kuehn of Wake Forest, Brooke Matthews of Arkansas, Emilia Migliaccio of Wake Forest, Kaitlyn Papp of Texas, Megan Schofill of Auburn, Aneka Seumanutafa of Ohio State, Kennedy Swann of Mississippi and Rose Zhang of Irvine, California.

Sarah Ingram, a three-time U.S. Women’s Mid-Amateur champion and a member of three USA Curtis Cup Teams, will serve as captain of the USA Team. A Duke University graduate, Ingram was a two-time All-American and four-year letter winner for the Blue Devils from 1985-1988.

Invitation to the Curtis Cup practice session does not guarantee selection to the eight-player USA Team that will compete in August. Players not invited will also be considered for inclusion on the team.

As of 2018, the USGA provides automatic selections to the reigning U.S. Women’s Amateur champion, along with the McCormack Medal winner and the top three players in the Women’s World Amateur Golf Ranking, if eligible. The 2021 U.S. Women’s Amateur Championship is scheduled to be played Aug. 2-8 at Westchester Country Club in Rye, New York, with the recipient of the McCormack Medal being named shortly thereafter.

The Curtis Cup Match is contested by two teams of eight female amateur players, one team from the United States of America and one team from Great Britain and Ireland which is composed of England, the Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales.