Augenstein Named to Hogan Watch List

Senior named one of 31 players as a top contender for top college golf award

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — Vanderbilt senior John Augenstein was named to the Ben Hogan Award Watch List on Wednesday, according to a joint announcement made by the Hogan Trophy Award Foundation, the Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA).

The Ben Hogan Award presented by Konica Minolta Business Solutions U.S.A., Inc. (Konica Minolta) is given annually to the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during a 12-month period from June to May.

This year’s list of 10 semifinalists, which could include individuals not on the watch list, will be unveiled on Wednesday, April 15. That group will be pared down to three finalists in May, and the finalists will attend a black-tie dinner at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, where the winner will be crowned.

The Ben Hogan Award Selection Committee votes during each stage of the process. It is comprised of leaders in collegiate, amateur and professional golf. The Ben Hogan Trophy was first issued in 1990 and also included academic achievement in its original list of standards. In 2002, the Ben Hogan Award moved to Fort Worth, Texas, and revised its criteria to its current standard of honoring the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer.

Ben Hogan Award winners at Colonial have combined to accumulate 39 PGA TOUR victories and more than $240 million in prize money. Two winners are currently ranked in the top 10 in the Official World Golf Rankings, No. 3 Jon Rahm (2015-16) and No. 6 Patrick Cantlay (2012), Other recipients include: Ricky Barnes (2003), Matt Every (2006), Rickie Fowler (2008), Doug Ghim (2018), Bill Haas (2004), Viktor Hovland (2019), Chris Kirk (2007), Hunter Mahan (2003), Maverick McNealy (2017), Ryan Moore (2005), Patrick Rodgers (2014), Kyle Stanley (2009), Nick Taylor (2010), D.J. Trahan (2002), Peter Uihlein (2011) and Chris Williams (2013).

Snedeker, Schwab Paired Together at WGC Mexico

Commodores Matthias Schwab and Brandt Snedeker will be paired together at the WGC Mexico this week at the Club de Golf Chapultepec in Mexico City, Mexico. The two will play with Sebastian Munoz and tee off at 1:03 p.m. CT on Thursday and 11:51 a.m. CT on Friday.

Gordon Qualifies for PGA Tour’s Puerto Rico Open

Former Commodore Will Gordon qualified for the Puerto Rico Open on Monday, and will begin play Thursday at the Grand Reserve Country Club in Rio Grande, Puerto Rico. Gordon has made five starts during the 2019-20 season, and was highlighted by a T-10 finish at The RSM Classic and a T-21 at the Farmers Insurance Open.